VOCALOID… tuning?

After the yesterday’s ER session, I woke up this morning, and suddenly managed to get a cute little guiding theme recorded on piano. Then, as usual, opened Facebook, to see what’s new there.
At one point, I saw a great story, followed by a cute picture art of GUMI. I read the story, I smiled… and then.. there was a comment. At this point, I must say, all the good-mood I was has vanished instantly. And I think it’s because I have developed the strangest OCD ever, seeing these two terms side by side triggers the desire to explain how wrong that can be.
So here I am, writing in the blog!
Vocaloid can be tuned indeed. In fact, it comes tuned on the 440 Hz standard by default, but users can change that, like any other instrument. But that’s all about tuning! VOCALOID isn’t a car, which one would change lots of parts in order to obtain better performance and look, and neither a radio receiver, which receiving frequency needs to be tuned in order to listen to the desired station. NO! Vocaloid itself is a musical instrument, and all the parameters are MODIFIED and ADJUSTED at user’s desire. I repeat, the TUNING happens only like any other instrument, when one wants to adjust the scale, to make the instrument to be in tune for a different scale, without changing the notes’ height, and by default, the 440 Hz frequency (LA note, or A note) is referred to as standard, like a diapason.
The community developed this strange term association (vocaloid-tuning) which, I repeat, it is wrong, it gives wrong view about what happens in fact when one edits the vocals. So seeing this phrase “.. how a vocaloid sounds depends mostly on the producer’s tuning skills…” ….. imagine the horror I see! Of course it reacts like an OCD in my mind!
– and here is my conclusion: How about me opening a video player on my PC, and tune in one of my favorite playlists with CHOBITS? How wrong that can sound? VERY WRONG!

5431797

Leave a comment